EXHIBITION
Meat-free Oven
/

08.09 – 07.10.2022
ABOUT
Dmitry Bulnygin's exhibition Meat-free Oven is built around the artist's fascination with the physical body and its diverse manifestations. By scrutinising animalistic forms protruding from peeling wallpaper or making ceramic objects with folds, Bulnygin distorts and disorientates human vision. Folds and textures hint at some storylines and create the effect of pareidolia, pacing the thin line between reality and illusion.

The mediums utilised in the works – ceramics and papier-mâché, tree bark, old wallpaper and husks – are themselves independent images that allude to various ways of casting. The task seems simple and clear – to replicate the object by reproducing its shape. But a subtle interplay is concealed there: the technique implies extremely close contact with the medium. The intimacy of this contact sparks an almost erotic tension. It is palpable not only in the ceramic sculpture Eternal Love (2022) which portrays a union of two frogs under a piece of fabric but even in the folds of the draped objects of the Like Rags series (2019–22). An implicit visual image arouses secret desires and fantasies of the subconscious.

Yet meat is conspicuously absent from Meat-free Oven – there is no body under this carapace. The title of the show emphasises the artist's break from the concept of the sacredness of art; Bulnygin scorns it and plays with it. The ironic term 'oven' has roots in Moscow conceptualism and was used by artists when describing works that claim to be 'spiritual'. But at times this irony itself spills into a sacred dimension. So, the draped figure with a tree hollow in place of a face is either a resident of a communal apartment that came out of the bathroom in a towel – or the Mother of God. The constant flickering between the absence and presence of the spirit underlines the illusory nature of any artwork – being a plaster cast of reality, a fragile papier-mâché veil thrown over an elusive meaning.

The play of contrasts between the living and the dead, the solid and the hollow gives rise to contradictory associations: on the one hand – the gravity of thoughts about death and extinction, and on the other hand – the enthusiasm for the reproduced relief and the energy of existence.

Louise Morin
EXHIBITION
VIEWS
ARTIST
Dmitry Bulnygin (b. 1965) graduated from the Novosibirsk Architectural Institute in 1990, founded the International Extra Short Film Festival (ESF) in 2000, was a member of the Blue Noses art group in 1999-2004. Since 2013 Bulnygin has been creating video installations using video mapping technology, whereas 2016 saw the start of work on a series of sculptures. Currently lives and works in Moscow.

Духовка без мяса
/

08.09 – 07.10.2022
О ВЫСТАВКЕ
Выставка «Духовка без мяса» Дмитрия Булныгина построена на интересе к телесной оболочке и разнообразию ее воплощений. Исследуя анималистические формы, выступающие из отслоившихся обоев или организуя складки керамических объектов, художник дезориентирует зрение. Складки и фактуры намекают на некие сюжеты и создают эффект парейдолии - балансирования между реальным объектом и иллюзией.

Материалы, которые использованы в работах - керамика и папье-маше, кора деревьев, старые обои и шелуха - самостоятельные образы, которые отсылают к различным способам создания слепка. Задача выглядит простой и понятной - дублировать предмет через его очертания. Но в ней скрыта тонкая игра: техника предполагает исключительно, предельно тесный контакт с материалом. Интимность этого контакта рождает почти эротическое напряжение. Оно ощущается не только в керамической скульптуре «Вечная любовь» (2022) - союзе двух лягушек под тканью - но даже в складках драпированных объектов серии «Как тряпки» (2019-22). Неявный зрительный образ вызывает к жизни тайные желания, фантазии подсознания.

Однако в «Духовке без мяса» мясо принципиально отсутствует - под телесной оболочкой самого тела нет. Название выставки подчеркивает, что автор в очередной раз порывает с идеей сакральности искусства, смеется и играет с ней. Иронический термин «духовка» родом из московского концептуализма и употреблялся художниками при описании произведений, претендующих на "духовность". Но порой сама эта ирония достигает некоего сакрального измерения. Так, задрапированная фигура с дуплом вместо лица - то ли житель коммуналки, вышедший в полотенце из ванной, то ли - богоматерь. Постоянное мерцание отсутствия- присутствия сущности подчеркивает иллюзорность любого произведения искусства, ведь оно - лишь гипсовый слепок с реальности, хрупкая вуаль папье-маше, наброшенная на ускользающий смысл.

Игра контрастов живого и мертвого, полного и полого рождает противоречивые ассоциации: с одной стороны тяжесть мыслей о смерти, исчезновении, с другой - увлеченность воспроизведенным рельефом, энергия бытия.

Луиз Морин

ВИДЫ ЭКСПОЗИЦИИ
Дмитрий Булныгин родился в 1965 году в г. Новосибирске. Закончил Новосибирский архитектурный институт (1990 г.); начиная с 2000 года организатор и директор Международного фестиваля сверхкороткого фильма (ESF); участник группы «Синие носы» (1999 - 2004 гг.). Живет и работает в Москве.